Home > Programming > Lisp vs. Haskell

Lisp vs. Haskell

I was thinking Lisp might be the best language yet, but this article, has left me wondering. Still, I have to keep myself at learning Lisp and eventually Clojure 🙂

Categories: Programming
  1. October 13, 2009 at 7:25 am

    Are you aware of any company in India that uses Clojure? Thanks in advance.

    • mmwaikar
      October 13, 2009 at 10:52 pm

      No, and I doubt any company starts using it in near future. Sorry for sounding pessimistic, but the fact is that (on-site) clients dictate the use of technologies / frameworks for people working offshore (in India). For instance, in .Net world (since my primary platform is .Net), you’ll find few companies in India that use NHibernate or Spring.Net (to be frank, the use of open source frameworks in .Net is poor in US too). So if the companies don’t even use newer or better frameworks, it is highly unlikely that an Indian software company will use a completely new language. I don’t know how long have you worked in software in India and if you noticed this or not, but as per my observation most big Indian software service providers prefer maintenance / support type of work rather than doing fresh development.

      So it will be a shocking surprise for me to hear an Indian company working in Clojure 🙂 The only exception to this might be ThoughtWorks (who have offices in Bangalore, Pune and Chennai). They already prefer to work in Ruby as compared to Java / .Net. So good luck and let me know if you find any Indian company working in Clojure.

  2. October 13, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    These guys are using Clojure (they are a newly formed startup) — http://paisa.com/

    I am not sure if any other company is working on Clojure in India. If you happen to find out please give me a shout. I was fishing for a glimmer of hope, but you are right — Indian companies are more into maintenance/support work. I am not sure about use of Clojure at ThoughtWorks either.

    My shameless plug: http://code.google.com/p/bitumenframework/

    • mmwaikar
      October 14, 2009 at 9:48 pm

      Wow, that’s a revelation to me (especially because I was settled in Pune, before moving to US), thanks tor the info. Unsurprisingly, only a startup or some such company could use Clojure 🙂 Your project definitely looks interesting, however if you are interested in Lisp you might want to check Weblocks – http://common-lisp.net/project/cl-weblocks/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

